Reflections on the Quest: Christ is Better!

For the next ten months, I will be spending a lot of time in the New Testament book of Hebrews.  I will be walking our teachers through this great epistle week week, and I will also be teaching a Sunday School class on Hebrews beginning in July.  As you probably know, the main theme of the book is the supremacy of Jesus.  Simply put, Christ is better!  That point is made immediately in the first chapter.  Without wasting any time in salutation, the writer loudly proclaims that Jesus is better than angels.  He is more superior to angelic beings because (1) He has a better name (1:4,5), (2) He is worthy of their worship (1:6), (3) they serve, but He reigns (1:7-9,13), He created all that is material and immaterial (1:10) and He is indestructable (1:11,12)!  That’s my Jesus!  I sure look forward to my time in this book and pray that God might continue His work of changing me from the inside out for His great glory!  It’s a quiet morning here in Dayton, TN.  Jodi and the children are still sleeping.  I have enjoyed my time with God in prayer and the Word, and look forward to what He has planned for me today.  Have a great day!  Thanks for reading!  Worship the LORD who is greater than the angels!

Leave a Reply

