Reflections on the Quest: Letters to God

Have you seen the movie Letters to God (2010, PG, 1 hr. 53 min.)?  It a great movie about a boy fighting cancer and his very practical faith in Christ.  I’d like to interact more with the content of the movie, but I won’t spoil it for you.  Today my 5th-8th graders (only 18 kids) watched the movie with me.  Several of them were crying at the end (there are some powerful moments in the film).  I admitted to the students that I, too, was emotional.  In fact, I encouraged them to be concerned if they were not moved by the film.  It was simply too well done for a person of any age to remain stoic (emotionally disengaged).  I think of other similar movies that are impossible to watch from a distance, movies like Flywheel, Facing the Giants, Fireproof and Faith Like Potatoes.  If you have not seen these movies yet, put them on the top of your MUST SEE list.  Jesus Christ is the reality (Col. 2:117).  Quality movies that do not ignore that fact are a true blessing from the Lord.  On this extended weekend, grab some popcorn and watch Letters to God.  Then let me know what you think.  Have a great Labor Day weekend.

Leave a Reply

