Sights from the Sidelines: It Really Isn’t That Difficult, Bruce Pearl

I just watched an excerpt from the press conference where the University of Tennessee men’s basketball coach, Bruce Pearl, admitted to lying to the NCAA regarding possible recruiting violations.  As is always the case, the man was emotional as he confessed that he “let a lot of people down.”  His words reminded me of the nauseating moments when South Carolina governor Mark Sanford admitted that he wasn’t actually hiking the Appalachian Trial but was, instead, with his lover in Argentina.  My friends, where have all the role models gone?  It really isn’t that difficult.  You tell the truth.  You remain faithful to your spouse.  You strive to walk in the footsteps of giants like George Washington.  It seems integrity is a rare commodity these days.  I am not perfect.  I sin.  I sin a lot.  But I am also deeply committed to doing the right thing at the right time for the right reasons.  Can the same be said of you?  Join me today in doing the right thing; and when we fail to do so, join me in running to Jesus, our only hope for forgiveness in this life and unbounded joy in the life to come.

Leave a Reply

