Reflections on the Quest: “He Must Increase.”

Do those words sound familiar?  Those are the words of John the Baptist.  As people were beginning to turn their focus from John to Jesus Christ, John stated, “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30).  Those words have always stood out to me.  It is the confession of a godly man, a servant of God who verbalized the desire of His heart.  He wanted–more than anything–for Jesus to get the glory.  I thought of this great example today after someone gave me a pamphlet which was promoting a ministry conference to be held in Chattanooga in the near future.  I won’t mention the name of the ministry or the man evidently running to show due to the golden rule (I would not want someone blogging about my weaknesses on the internet).  Sadly, the 47-page pamphlet is what some might call “a shameless plug.”  The speaker’s name appears on almost every page, and his books are described under the heading:  Five Books That Have Become Instant Classics (funny, I’ve never heard of them).  He also wrote five articles.  Believe me, when I was done flipping through the booklet, I was tired of his name and his face!  Sadly, I don’t see much of John the Baptist in his ministry.  Instead, I find a man who thinks a bit too much of himself and his ministry.  I know that charge could be leveled at each of us from time to time.  Let’s use the negative example of the author and conference speaker and the postive example of John to help us keep our focus and promotion in their proper place.  Let’s exalt Jesus Christ today and in this new week!  May our lives and ministry proclaim:  “He must increase, but I must decrease.”

Leave a Reply

