Reflections on the Quest: The Church Sign

I get a kick out of a lot of messages that appear on church signs.  Consider the one I found yesterday at a small church between Birchwood and Cleveland (TN):  THIS SUNDAY:  IT’S ALL ABOUT JESUS.  I think I laughed out loud when I saw it.  Shouldn’t every Sunday be “all about Jesus”?!  I trust they would agree.  The pastor probably found the message in a book and did not think about how it could possibly be interpreted by a geek such as myself!  The reason the church sign stood out to me so much yesterday afternoon is the fact that I was headed to begin another Jesus and the Gospels course for the college.  I taught last night from 6-9PM.  After a time of getting to know one another and a discussion of the syllabus, we studied the Gospels (who wrote, when, why, etc.), I talked about the baptism and temptation of Christ.  It was a lot of fun!  I love talking about Jesus because I love Jesus!  I hope the same is true of you.  I think if we–me, you, everyone–truly grasped even a little of the awesomeness of Jesus Christ, we would strive to make every day “all about” HIM!  I am grateful for the church sign that made me chuckle, and for how God used it to remind me that Jesus should be my foremost passion.

One response

  1. Thanks for reading, Terry!

Leave a Reply

