Sights from the Sidelines: Ryan Mallett had a Bad Day

My Saturday wasn’t so bad.  I worked about three hours, took the kids out for ice cream, played the Wii with the boys, mopped the house and prepared for Sunday School.  I know I wasn’t perfect, but I didn’t do too badly.  Ryan Mallett had a bad day.  You probably don’t know who he is.  He’s the starting quarterback for Arkansas.  Yesterday his tenth-ranked Razorbacks lost to the top-ranked Alabama Crimson Tide.  Mallett threw three interceptions.  They probably would have won had he only thrown two, but he threw three.  I feel for the kid.  Well over a million football fans around the country saw him act like Brett Favre on a bad day.  I hope Ryan bounces back.  Brett has done so, becoming perhaps the greatest quarterback to play in the NFL.  Go, Ryan, go!  Retire, Brett (as a Wisconsin native I become nauseated at the mention of the Minnesota Vikings).  So Ryan Mallett had a bad day, and everybody knows about it.  Honestly, I am glad that my bad days are very limited in viewership!  Trust me, I’ve had three-interception days!  I’ve turned the ball over when I had the opportunity to win the game.  So have you.  We’re not perfect, either.  Thankfully, I have a God Who is!  Jesus lived the perfect life, fulfilling all righteousness (Mt. 3:15) as He continued to be about His Father’s business (Lk. 2:49).  You want to know what I do when I stink up the place with my mistakes and sins (and, yes, there is a difference)?  I run to the Perfect One, the Author and Perfecter of my faith (Heb. 12:2)!  I go to Jesus who dispenses mercy and grace from His gracious throne (Heb. 4:16).  How was your day?  If it wasn’t so bad, thank God.  If it was, run to God.  And, if you think of it, say a prayer for Ryan.

One response

  1. Hi Tim, I was really disappointed after the Razorbacks lost to Alabama………. I guess I knew we could do it if Mallet was on the mark, but he wasn’t…….. I really enjoyed reading what you wrote about Mallet……… All your devotion over the years I have enjoyed reading……….. Keep them coming!!!!!!!!!! May God Bless you as you serve HIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

