Reflections on the Quest: Resting, Reading, Rejoicing

Fall Break at RCA (Rhea County Academy) has arrived!  We’re resting.  As difficult as it is for me, I plan to take two complete days off of work.  At the end of the break, Celena and I will be flying to Las Vegas for a wedding.  I’ll have to work the first half of the week so I can truly enjoy our time with family and friends in Nevada.  In the midst of my resting bookends and my productivity, I plan to continue reading.  This morning I read the book of James.  We’re going to meditate upon this very practical book in Sunday School in the morning.  I was particulary struck by this encouragement in the first chapter:  “But the brother of humble circumstances is to glory in his high position” (1:9).  Those words reminded me of what I have been reading in Ephesians.  Because of Christ, I have been blessed with every spiritual blessing in heaven (Eph. 1:3) and I have been seated with Christ in the heavenly places (Eph. 2:6).  If you think I fully grasp any of that, I have some ocean front property in Arizona I’d love to sell you!  Only eternity will reveal the full-revelation of the meaning “in Christ”!  However, I am rejoicing today!  Circumstances find me “humble” (translated: financially-ouched).  But in Christ I am blessed!  At the beginning of Fall Break I am resting, reading and rejoicing!  Won’t you join me?!

Leave a Reply

