Sights from the Sidelines: Because of Christ

I have a dear brother in the Lord named Scott.  I suppose he is what some might call a spiritual son in the faith.  He and I will renew our face-to-face fellowship later this week when I visit Las Vegas for a wedding.  He recently sent me an email entitled “Because.”  The contents of that email appear below.  As his former “mentor,” I feel as if I am on the sidelines marveling at the work of God in his life.  The Lord has indeed done marvelous things.  Because of Christ, Scott is not what Scott once was.  The very same can be said of Tim.  My friends, even though I have a long way to go before I resemble Jesus Christ, I have come a very long way already!  Soli Deo Gloria (To God be the glory)! 

Because of the first, I am condemned.
Because of the last, I am converted.

Because of the first, I am a sinner.
Because of the last, I am a saint.

Because of the first, I hate.
Because of the last, I honor.

Because of the first, I am ruined.
Because of the last, I am redeemed.

Because of the first, I am aborted.
Because of the last, I am adopted.

Because of the first, I have pride.
Because of the last, I have propitiation.

Because of Adam, I am severed.
Because of Christ, I am saved.

Leave a Reply

