Reflections on the Quest: Sin City is still Sin City

Celena and I have safely returned from Las Vegas.  I praise God for safe travel on airplane and shuttle bus.  It’s good to be home!  As I reflect upon my trip, I can honestly tell you that Sin City is still Sin City.  I witnessed a plethora of sin on our short vacation, including sexually-explicit billboards (stationary and moving [cabs, vans, trucks, etc.]), adult children not honoring a parent, a wedding which ignored God, an abundance of profanity, drunkenness, and on and on the list could go.  I am convinced that Las Vegas is no more sinful than Altanta or Dallas or Milwaukee or Nashville.  It’s just more explicit or in-your-face than in other places.  I don’t miss that.  Trust me, Dayton, TN, has sin.  It has my sin!  There is an abundance of temptations.  But I appreciate the restraining influence of the Christian Church.  The “Bible belt” is slowly becoming like other parts of the nation, but I am grateful that the negative transformation is coming at a slow pace.  Today finds me thankful that we no longer live in Sin City.  Today also finds me thankful for the spiritual encouragement I received in the desert.  I was greatly edified from the fellowship with my brothers in Christ, and I was blessed from my visit to Hope Baptist Church.  Hanging out with my Mom was also a highlight.  The one-on-one time with Celena was invaluable.  It was a good trip.  It’s good to be home.  Sin City is still Sin City.  Tim is still tired.  I hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

