Reflections on the Quest: My Head is spinning with Latin Phrases

Post Tenebras Lux

The “solas” of the Protestant Reformation

Semper Reformanda

My head is spinning with Latin phrases!

Reformation Day is just around the corner.  On October 31, 1517, Martin Luther nailed his now famous 95 Theses on the Castle Church door in Wittenberg (Germany).  Some people will celebrate Nevada Day this coming Sunday.  Nevada entered the union on October 31st.  Many people will celebrate Halloween (costumes, trick or treat, etc.).  We will celebrate Reformation Day.  This particular year is especially meaningful because I will be preaching at our church.  However, the Latin phrase that is particularly on my mind today is Deo volente.  It is translated “God-willing.”  When used, it is a verbal acknowledgment of an inward condition.  Deo volente means “if the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that” (James 4:15; NASB).  I plan to wake up in the morning, seek God’s face, serve at Rhea County Academy and spend time with the family on Friday Deo volente.  If the Lord wills, I will live.  Munch on that.  I only have life and breath on Friday if God grants it (Acts 16:25).  Each time I inhale and exhale, I am in debt to Him “who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings, and Lord of lords” (1 Tim. 6:15).  Secondly, I will only accomplish that which God allows.  All of my plans must be made with the perspective that God’s will may indeed trump my own.  I saw this in action today.  Something I desired to see happen six months ago came to reality today.  God and I were thinking the same (a rare convergence), but our timing was different.  I wanted my plan to happen in my timing.  God ensured that His plan happened in His timing.  As a result, I rejoice.  God’s will was done.  His will is always done.  That’s why Deo volente is such a great attitude to adopt.  It’s biblical.  It’s wise.  Set your alarm.  Plan to make a difference tomorrow.  Deo volente.  God-willing to God’s glory!

Leave a Reply

