Confessions and Denials: Our Power Outage

We lost power this morning about 5:10AM.  [Excursus:  We HAD a massive surge protector that incessantly and loudly beeped until the power returned.  It left our possession today.]  I don’t know about your power situation, but we lose power no less than once a week.  Sadly, the same is true of me personally.  After writing my last entry on our passionate pursuit of Christ, I need to confess today that faith is often a fight for me.  Perhaps it’s a fight for everyone.  The Apostle Paul wrote, “I have fought the good fight” (2 Tim. 4:7).  In an earlier epistle, he challenged Timothy to do the same (1 Tim. 1:18).  The clearest expression of this is also found in 1 Timothy.  Paul wrote, “But you, man of God, flee from all this [context:  the love of money], and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness. Fight the good fight of the faith” (6:11,12).  I think some individuals have the spiritual gift of faith.  Once given the initial gift of faith that all believers receive (Eph. 2:8,9), some–I believe–receive an extra measure.  That’s not my testimony.  Do you recall what the Apostles exclaimed after Jesus taught about the extent we are to forgive?  They replied, “Increase our faith” (Lk. 17:5)!  Ever feel that way?  I sure do!  I believe, but I want to believe more.  I have faith, but I need more faith.  My fight is to keep the faith that I have, and to do what is necessary to grow in that faith (No, I do not believe I can actually lose my faith even if–at times–it feels like it is happening).  If you are a Christian, that is your fight as well; to stand firm, and then to move forward.  So–how are we fighting today?  I’m trying.  Are you?  Don’t give in!  Don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

