Confessions and Denials: My Deep Desire

One of my all-time favorite verses is 1 Corinthians 10:31.  It reads, “Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (NASB).  That’s my deep desire.  My heart’s hope is that of the Apostle Paul when he stated that he wanted Christ to be exalted in his body, whether by life or by death (Phil. 1:20).  In the context of 1 Corinthians 10, Paul warned the believers in Corinth not to follow in the footsteps of the nation of Israel in the wilderness.  Among the sins they committed during those forty years, Paul listed idolatry (10:7), immorality (10:8), distrust of God (10:9) and grumbling (10:10).  His encouragement to them was to not crave evil things (10:6) and to look for the God-provided way of escape amidst every temptation (10:13).  As he continued, he exhorted the believers to ensure that they–themselves–were not the source of temptation to others (10:15-30).  On the heels of these words, he included verse thirty-one.  Everything I do should be done to the glory of God.  Why should I avoid the sins of idolatry, immorality, distrust and grumbling?  So that God is glorified!  Why should I strive to edify (build up) others?  So that God is glorified!  I close with a little self-examination.  If my deep desire truly is to glorify God, I am required to examine my actions.  Is my worship pure or am I cherishing anyone or anything more than Jesus?  Am I staying pure, guarding my eyes from impure images, taking every thought captive?  In my trials, am I genuinely trusting the Lord?  Am I doing everything without grumbling and complaining?  Saying that I want to exalt God and doing so are two completely different matters!  As I mature in the faith, I very much hope that my living more and more matches my proclaiming.  If you are a Christian, my guess is that that is your admission as well.  We all want our deeds and our declaration to compliment one another.  May the mantra of 1 Corinthians 10:31 be our motivation today and always!

Leave a Reply

