Confessions and Denials: I Want to Die

As my five-year-old was waking up this morning, he asked me a very unexpected question:  “Daddy, do you want to die?”  It was a bit of a strange question to ask someone getting ready to go to work, but I decided to answer.  I answered, “Yes.”  If memory serves correctly, he replied with, “I knew that because you want to go to heaven not hell because those are the two places and you don’t want to go to hell, right?”  I then went on to tell him that I want to die and go to heaven because Jesus is there and I really love Jesus and want to be with Him.  As I continued, I informed him that if Jesus gave me the option of going to heaven or staying on earth today, I would choose to stay because it was more beneficial for him and for the family if I stayed.  Sound familiar?  Those were the words of the Apostle Paul in Philippians 1:21-28.  Because he wanted to do what he could to help the believers make progress and experience joy in the faith (1:25), he would remain.  Paul genuinely cared that his friends grow spiritually!  That is my desire as well; thus the creation of this website.  I want to see you grow to know God more intimately and–as a result–glory in Him and glorify Him more and more.  We all need people who gently nudge us closer to God.  Consider this your nudge today!  Want to die.  Be willing to remain so that you can make a difference in others’ lives.

Leave a Reply

