Timeless Truths: God ALWAYS deserves my worship!

I just watched a sermon on the Magnificat (Luke 1:46-56) by Mark Driscoll, pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle.  I wanted to get Mark’s take on this particular passage as I will be studying it with my Wednesday night Gospels class this week.  If you have the time in the next few weeks, I would encourage you to watch it as well (I put the link on the Quick Takes page).  Ever since becoming a Christian, Mary’s song has encouraged me.  Without a doubt, that young woman had a deep faith in God which was accompanied by deep theology (right thinking about God).  She was known by God.  She knew God.  She knew about God.  And, it made all the difference in the world!  Her deep faith and deep theology led her to doxology (praise) and dependence (trust).  Do you recall how she initially responded to Gabriel’s message?  “Behold, the bondslave of the Lord; may it be done to me according to your word” (Lk. 1:38).  Later, after Elizabeth confirmed the angel’s announcement, Mary sang, “My soul exalts the Lord” (Lk. 1:46).  As Driscoll points out, Mary worshipped rather than worried.  That’s a good word for me to hear today!  What about you?  Do you have anything to worry about?  Are there any concerns in your life related to finances or health or job or relationships?  Worship!  Have deep faith accompanied by deep theology which should lead you to doxology and dependence!  It was good–very good–to be reminded this afternoon that God ALWAYS deserves  my worship!

Leave a Reply

