The Year in Review: Jonathan Edwards’ Resolution #28

Did you spend time in God’s Word today?  I am reading 1 Peter this week after Christmas (last five days of the year = a five chapter book).  This morning I read 1 Peter 2, a chapter filled with both theology and application.  As I conclude yet another year, I still find myself fascinated by the Bible.  In Resolution #28, Jonathan Edwards wrote, “Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same.”  In other words, Edwards wanted to continue to spend quality time in the Word of God so that he might know more of the Word of God.  And, knowing Edwards as I do, his ultimate goal was to know God more intimately and show God more effectively.  This morning I was reminded that I should crave the milk of the Word of God (1 Peter 2:2).  I do.  I hope you do as well.  And–like my baby–we need to fuss until we get some.  If you did not have the opportunity to drink Bible yet today, start fussing!  Drink as soon a possible!

Leave a Reply

