Aiming the Arrows: Towers and Tucson Shootings

Saturday morning T.J. (eight years old) and I went out for breakfast prior to the RCA Warriors basketball game.  Somehow our conversation turned to natural disasters.  We talked a bit about earthquakes and tsunamis.  As we did, the words of Deuteronomy 6:7 (“You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way…” [or eat at Eagle Exxon]) came to my mind.  After we agreed that we’d rather not be “taken out” by a tidal wave, I reminded my son that the truth of the matter is that we all deserve to be wiped out each and every day.  I told him about the tower of Siloam which fell and killed eighteen people (Lk. 13:4).  Do you remember what Jesus told those within the hearing of His words?  “I tell you, no, but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish” (Lk. 13:5).  In the previous verse, He described the inhabitants of Jerusalem as “culprits” (NASB, updated).  The ESV translates that word as “offenders,” while the KJV renders it “sinners.”  The point is clear.  Everyone is guilty.  “For all have sinned…” (Rom. 3:23).  Hard truth, but truth nonetheless.  And–believe it or not–my eight-year-old “can handle the truth.”  In my Sunday blog entry, I stressed the importance of belief in the words and works of Jesus.  I regularly do just that with my arrows (the children).  Each day, I pray for their salvation.  Each night, I pray with them.  When possible, I open God’s Word with them (the “little girl” makes that somewhat challenging).  I very much want them to see that God is a huge priority in my life, and that towers falling in Siloam or deranged gunmen firing in Tucson have direct impact upon our lives in sleepy, little Dayton, Tennessee.

Note:  Please do not read more into the above entry than is meant.  I am not stating that I believe the individuals who were killed or wounded in this weekend’s shooting were being punished by God.  Like each us, however, they were sinners.  I do hope each had repented.  I hope my son has–or will–repent of his sins.  I have intitially repented of my sins, but need to do so far more frequently.  Would you join me in repenting today (grieving for our sins and turning from them to Christ)?  Would you join me in praying for the families and friends of the victims of the Tucson tragedy?  Pray for God to be glorified.  Pray for the gospel of Jesus Christ to be boldly proclaimed.  Pray for healing.  Pray for comfort.  Pray for justice.

Leave a Reply

