Musing in the Morning: God’s Blitzkrieg

Every now and then I have an out-of-body experience.

“Let me explain.  There is no time.  Let me sum up.”

Occasionally, I find myself looking at my life and marveling at the grace of God.  Better wording, eh?!  As I was getting ready for work this morning, I went through the mental list of what I wanted to do, what I wanted to accomplish, and it dawned on me that probably none of my activities would be on my list had not God unexpectedly successfully accomplished a blitzkrieg in my life that 1984 December in Missouri.  My list this morning may have been similar to your own (glorify God–faithfully love my wife and my children–faithfully serve as a principal, etc.).  Then…wait a minute!  I am married?  Yes!  Twenty years this coming May!  I have children?  Yes!  Four happy and healthy kids!  I am a principal–me, the guy who did not graduate high school?  Yes!  I lead an awesome group of teachers at a small Christian school here in Tennessee.  It’s probably hard for you to relate.  It’s possible that most of you were not where I was just prior to God’s miraculous work of regeneration (that’s the fancy word for the process of being born again).  I was on a dead-end street, living completely for my flesh.  These words from the Apostle Paul described me accurately:

“And you were dead in your trespasses and sins…Among them we too all formerly lived in the lusts of our flesh, indulging the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, even as the rest” (Ephesians 2:1, 3; NASB, Updated).

Believe me when I say that I was not righteous (Rom. 3:10).  I did not seek God (Rom. 3:11).  I did not do good (Rom. 3:12).  In short, I was “in it” for me.  I was “without God” (Eph. 2:13).

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, made us alive together with Christ” (Eph. 2:4,5).

These truths never cease to amaze me.  Is the same true of you?  Has the invisible wind of the Holy Spirit (John 3) blown on your spiritually dead bones?  Have you experienced God’s blitzkrieg? I hope so!  If so, be amazed!

Definition:  The word blitzkrieg is German for a quick, unexpected attack.  You just read a brief account of my conversion.  Christian leader CJ Mahaney shares his on this link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYVO2-2ndg4

Leave a Reply

