Savoring the Savior in the Psalms: Psalm 10

“The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spirituall discerned” (1 Cor. 2:14; NIV).

“He boasts of the cravings of his heart he blesses the greedy and reviles the Lord. In his pride the wicked does not seek Him; in all his thoughts there is not room for God” (Ps. 10:3,4; NIV).

“He says to himself, ‘God has forgotten; He covers His face and never sees'” (Ps. 10:11).

That was me in my natural state, my spiritually dead condition (Eph. 2:1-3) prior to regeneration (2 Cor. 5:17).  But now–because of the Spirit–there is room for God in my thoughts!  I know Him and I know about Him.  Consequently, I rejoice in the following truths:

“The Lord is King for ever and ever; the nations will perish from from His land. You hear, O Lord, the desire of the afficted; you encourage them, and you listen to their cry” (Ps. 10:16,17; NIV).

Today I exult in God (take great pleasure in) that He is “the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone is immortal and who lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see” (1 Tim. 6:15,16).  He is absolutely God and He is absolutely sovereign (“the nations will perish”).  That’s my Jesus!  Later today I will be challenging a group of students to ask themselves this question:  Do I know about God, or do I know God?  The Apostle Paul is my biblical example.  He knew about Jesus, but he did not know Jesus until Jesus invaded his life on the road to Damascus (Acts 9 [“God’s blitzkrieg”]).  I also plan to show a clip from Lou Giglio where he illustrates the difference between knowing about God and knowing God with a Krispy Kreme donut.  May God use that time in the lives our our middle school students!  I am savoring Jesus Christ today.  He is my sovereign King who sees my desires and hears my prayers (Ps. 10:11)!

Check out the Quick Takes page for the Giglio link on You Tube.

Leave a Reply

