Reflections on the Quest: Flush that stink away

We are–in earnest–attempting to potty train Cascade.  I would describe our effort yesterday as somewhat victorious.  Several times we were able to coax her to drop small (though large in stench) bombs into the toliet.  If you are parent of older children, you probably remember those sights and smells vividly.  You recall how your child beemed with pride when you congratulated them, and how happy everyone was to flush the poop away!  (I write this with great hope that Cascade will quickly learn this process as we have had a child in diapers now for ELEVEN LONG YEARS!)  Now comes the spiritual application.  When I went to bed last night, I was stinking.  That smell remained when I woke up this morning.  It was the stench of a bad attitude.  Ever have those?  Thought so!  What do you do when you are stinking up the place?  This morning, I did two activities that I should do every time I realize that my attitude isn’t honoring to God–I read the Bible and prayed.  Verse 17 of Psalm 10 particularly encouraged me.  I’ll share it in several translations.

LORD, thou hast heard the desire of the humble: thou wilt prepare their heart, thou wilt cause thine ear to hear:” (KJV).

“You hear, O Lord, the desire of the afflicted; you encourage them, and you listen to their cry” (NIV).*

Now check out a paraphrase:

“The victim’s faint pulse picks up; the hearts of the hopeless pump red blood as you put your ear to their lips” (The Message).

In a context about the sovereignty of God (Ps. 1o:16), the author of this song reminds us that the Lord knows the desires of His people, encourages them, and listens to their prayers.  Does that strengthen your faith today?  It does mine!  Does that provide the fuel you need to flush your stinky attitude down the toliet?  It does the trick for me!  My joy has returned.  God has spoken, and I have spoken to God.  Is the same true of you? 

*Jump over to the Quick Takes page for a discussion about the NIV.

Leave a Reply

