Confessions and Denials: A complicated question

Cascade:  “Why do people talk?”

Daddy:  “Well…”

Don’t you love the questions that two-year-olds ask?!  I answered the question the best that I could.  However, my mind went in a completely different direction.  The question that came to my mind was:

Why do people talk so much?

Several months ago my wife made a comment that I found to be–sadly–right-on-target.  Her statement was basically this:  Professing believers complain, grumble, gossip and slander just as much as unbelievers.  I have to agree.  We talk.  We talk too much.  Rather than run to God in prayer,  we run our mouths to others.  We are quicker to tear one another down rather than build one another up.  We find it far easier to criticize than to offer to assist. 

Why are we like this? 

You know the answer!  Remember what James wrote?

“All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.  With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness.   Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing.  My brothers, this should not be.  Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?  My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs?  Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water” (3:7-12).

Straight-forward talk from a disciple knew personally knew Jesus Christ.

I’ve seen many Christians not taming their tongues lately.

As you read this blog, please don’t think I believe that I am above the fray, that somehow I think I do not sin with my words.  On the contrary!  I, too, speak before I think.  I still allow my tongue to freely wag.  Although I have seen far too many examples of ungodly speech over the past couple of years, I want to more frequently set a godly example than point a finger.  I want to bless, not curse others.  I want to mortify my flesh (Rom. 8:13), including my evil tongue!

Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

