Behind the Dugout: Is this how God feels?

The Express lost again.  We’re 2-2 now.  Once again, Coach Greg handled the loss very well.  It was painful to watch.  All the dads moaned every time an error was made, and there were quite a few errors!  As I reflected upon our responses, I couldn’t help but wonder if my heavenly Father similarly moans when I mess up.  An easy pop-up comes my way and I miss it.  A slow ground ball rolls under my glove.  I overrun third base and I am tagged out.  The Father moans.  Romans 7 again finds fulfillment in my life. 

“For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing” (7:20; ESV).

Can you relate? 

I face a moment of temptation.  The battle begins.  Within seconds, the Father moans.  I sinned again.

“Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?”

There’s the confession of a spiritual man!  Paul understood that he needed deliverance.  He perceived that he was “wretched.”  Isn’t that the first realization of a regenerate man?  Those born again comprehend the stark reality that they desperately need a Savior.

Do you remember the answer Paul gives for his question?

“Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord” (7:25)!

And Romans, chapter eight, celebrates the result of confession!

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (8:1)!

God the Father may moan when I sin, but–thanks be to God through Jesus Christ my Lord–I am not condemned!

Thanks to Coach Greg, the Express can lift up their heads.  Another game is scheduled for Saturday.  Thanks to Jesus Christ, I can lift up my head.  My sin is covered by His precious blood.  His successful work on the cross and continued work before the throne of the Father is my motivation to put to death my sin (1 Jn. 2:1,2; Rom. 8:13).

Will you join me in the fight?

Leave a Reply

