Passover–A Celebration of Satisfaction

Isaiah wrote,

“Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.  Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy?  Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare” (Is. 55:1-2).

Jesus said,

“I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty” (Jn. 6:35).

“If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him” (7:37).

Milliions of people will be attending Passover seders this week.  I typically host one every year as well.  Those who reject Jesus as the Messiah will celebrate God’s physical deliverance.  Those of us who believe that Jesus Christ truly is the Messiah will celebrate God’s spiritual deliverance.  We’ll be feeding on the seder elements as well as upon Jesus.  That will be satisfying fare!  I praise God for His protection of the Hebrews, and for how He glorified Himself in the defeat of the Egyptians.  More importantly, I praise God for sending His one and only Son to defeat Satan and sin!  In Christ, God passed over my sins!  I have reason to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

