Mountain Memories and Meditations

We returned from the Smokies mid-afternoon.  We really did have a great time.  The kids couldn’t stop talking about the trip to others once we arrived at home.  I’m glad they had such a nice time.  Hopefully the nightmares caused by the tubing experience will subside soon.  On our way back, we stopped at Sweetwater Valley Farm for some cheese (Rats–they didn’t have any cheese curds!). 

After this weekend, our summer routine will begin in earnest.  We’ll be busy with Bryan teaching, RCA preparations for the coming school year and summer school (Jodi will be helping Celena.  I’ll be working with TJ).  I am hoping to fish a little, but temps over ninety keep me off the river!  Sleeping until 7AM and having a bit more quality time with Jodi and the kids makes summer a special time–even if the temps soar!

No heat, however, can keep me out of the Word of God.  1 John, chapter five reminded me this morning yet again of how much I love the Bible.  This particular passage offers a precious gift to all genuine believers–the certainty of eternal life (5:13).  The Apostle John wrote that I can have unshakeable confidence that my faith is authentic if I consistently walk in obedience to the commands of God (5:2) and if I continually war against sin, rather than allowing it to rule me (5:18).  I am far from perfect (those of you who know me probably shouted “AMEN!” at that confession).  Thankfully, my many imperfections are swallowed up by the glorious perfection of Christ, the true God and eternal life (5:20).  Rather than use that knowledge as a license for sin, however, I am motivated to live the minutes and moments of my life as light-shining opportunities (Mt. 5:16; 1 Jn. 1:7).  When I fail–when I sin (multiple times per day!)–I take great comfort that God hears and pardons (1 Jn. 1:9).  And–having received that cleansing–I go forward, striving to obey God (1 Jn. 2:3, 3:23, 4:21, 5:2) by loving others that He has placed in the sphere of my influence (1 Jn. 2:2, 3:10, 4:7, 5:16,17).  That’s the high calling of everyone born of God (1 Jn.  5:1).

I’ve really enjoyed my mountain meditations on 1 John this week!  If you’ve read them, I hope you were encouraged as well.  Allow me to make this challenge to you:  Read 2 & 3 John this weekend.  Then, gather with the body of Christ to worship the Father’s Son (2 Jn. 3) and be further motivated to do good (3 Jn. 11)!

Thanks for stopping by the house!

Leave a Reply

