Everyday Exhortations: Be Thankful

A loud clicking noise continued to interrupt our reading and meditation of God’s Word this morning.  First, we thought Cascade has hiding from us, making the sound.  When we could not find her, I thought somehow that the clicking was coming from the electrical outlet or–perhaps–the fireplace.  Then Jodi found the source.  It was coming from a bug that was stuck in a spider web!  At first, I surmised that the critter was making the loudest noise he could possibly make as an emergency S.O.S. plea.  However, when I examined him (being the experience etymologist that I am), I determined that he was experiencing the horrific results of spider venom.  Sort of gives you the chills doesn’t it?! 

You think you’re having a bad day?!

I am not sure I noticed previously the strong emphasis the Apostle Paul places on thankfulness in the book of Colossians.  Yesterday as I studied chapter three, I observed that he mentioned the practice three times in three consecutive verses (3:15-17).  This morning, I found Paul stating that he thanked God for the faith and love of the believers in Colossae (1:3).  He also prayed that they, too, would regularly give God thanks for their salvation (1:12).  After doing a brief word search of the entire Pauline corpus (all Paul’s letters), I found that he mentioned the subject well-over twenty times.  In his mind, believers ought to “overflow” with thanksgiving (3:16)!  It’s the “attitude of gratitude” I’ve heard many mention. 

Think through your life for a moment.  If you are a believer (remember–Paul was writing specifically to Christians in Colossians [1:2]), you have quite a list for which to be thankful.  Like the first century believers, you should thank God that He has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light (1:12).  How did He do this?  “He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins” (1:13,14). 

Let me ask you a question:  Does this still amaze you? 

It should.

Today should find us thankful for the blessings of our life.  I am grateful for a faithful, loving, sacrificial wife, and for four relatively happy and healthy children.  I am thankful for the variety of ways–expected and unexpected–that God is providing for our needs.  I am thankful that my first Ethics class went well last night, and that I have the opportunity of “proclaiming Christ’s excellencies” (1 Pet. 2:9) Wednesday night in Dalton.  And my list could go on and on and on.  So could yours.  Yet I am more thankful for the spiritual blessings I have in Christ.  Consider briefly those mentioned by Paul:

  • qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light
  • delivered us from the domain of darkness
  • transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son
  • in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins

Wow, Christians, you have reason for which to give thanks today!  You have been delivered, forgiven, qualified, redeemed and transferred!

Leave a Reply

