Reflections on the Quest: God delighted in me this morning

Can I be honest with you?

I was not delighting when my wife woke me up at 5:23AM this morning so that I could help set up for the second installment of the summer yard sale.  I shall be “runnin’ on empty” much of today!  In order to find fuel for my soul (which often translates to energy for my body), I continued my reading in God’s Word and A’Kempis.  Today I read Proverbs 15.  No less than five truths stood out to me, encouraging me as I began a long day:

  1. God is with me today, watching my actions and reactions, my deeds, thoughts, and words.  “The eyes of the LORD are in every place, watching the evil and the good” (15:3).
  2. I am a blessed man, even though I am literally scraping to get by.  “Better is a little with the fear of the LORD than great treasure and turmoil with it” (15:16).
  3. One of my missions today ought to be calculated speech which encourages others.  “A man has joy in an apt answer, and how delightful is a timely word” (15:23).
  4. Humility needs to remain higher on my list than honor since honor is the reward for humility.  “The fear of the LORD is the instruction for wisdom, and before honor comes humility” (15:33). 
  5. God delighted in me this morning.  “The sacrifice of the wicked is an abomination to the LORD, but the prayer of the upright is His delight” (15:8). 

Let’s meditate on that final observation before we move on to our next click of the mouse or task to be accomplished. 

God delights in the prayers of His people. 

Why?

John Piper answers, “God is the kind of God who delights most deeply not in making demands but in meeting needs. Prayer is His delight because prayer shows the reaches of our poverty and the riches of His grace. Prayer is that wonderful transaction where the wealth of God’s glory is magnified and the wants of our soul are satisfied. Therefore God delights in the prayers of the upright” (The Pleasures of God, Multnomah, 1991, p.217).

Later in the chapter, Piper adds:

“Why then does God delight in the prayers of the upright? He delights in their prayers for the same reason that He abominates the sacrifices of the wicked–because the prayers of the upright are the extension and outworking of the heart; but, unlike the heart of the wicked, the heart of the upright magnifies the power and grace of God. The prayer of the upright is a delight to God because it expresses those affections of the heart which call attention to the all-sufficiency of God” (p.222).

My friends, did you pray today?  Did you admit your poverty by seeking God’s riches (don’t necessarily think cash at this point)?  Did you request the omnipotent (all-powerful) God to work in such a way that He receive glory and people receive grace (common grace, saving grace or sanctifying grace)?  If so, great!  Keep praying (1 Thess. 5:17).  If not, why not set aside time to delight God?

Have a great day! And–stop by and buy something from us today.  Remember, my trash is your treasure!

Leave a Reply

