Keep close to Jesus–Like “what’s-his-name”!

He wasn’t “the disciple whom Jesus loved” (Jn. 13:23).  He wasn’t one of the inner three (Peter, James and John [Mt. 17:1-13]).  He wasn’t one of the twelve (Mt. 10:2-4). 

But he was there. 

His name was Matthias, and God determined that he would replace Judias Iscariot as the twelfth apostle (Acts 1:12-26).  Here’s his resume:

“Therefore it is necessary to choose one of the men who have been with us the whole time the Lord Jesus went in and out among us, beginning from John’s baptism to the time when Jesus was taken up from us. For one of these must become a witness with us of his resurrection” (Acts 1:21, 22).

In spite of the fact that he had not been chosen by Jesus to be one of the initial apostles, Matthias stuck with Jesus.  He was with Jesus and the other disciples “the whole time.”  From the point Jesus was baptized by John until His ascension to glory (Acts 1), Matthias remained.  I suppose he could have become bitter.  He could have allowed himself to feel cheated by Jesus.  Instead, he remained faithful.

This morning I went up on Dayton Mountain to help paint the interior of a church where my friend serves as a pastor.  On the way, I noticed a sign outside different church.  It read, “Keep Close to Jesus.”  When I saw the sign, I comment to myself “That’s my plan.”  Is it yours?

I can identify with Matthias.  I’m not famous.  No one would describe me as a “mover and a shaker.”  When I am gone, few will remember my name (most of us cannot even name all twelve “original” apostles).  However, my plan remains that of Matthias.  I want to keep close to Jesus.  Do you?

If so, please remember that few gifts of God are given to us in this life which help in that quest as much as the local church.  Take advantage of this assistance by attending a Bible teaching church on Sunday. 

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

