God is a Packers fan!

Somehow I just knew God was a Packers fan.  Now I have proof.

That’s Bubba.  Paul’s been a dear friend for over twenty years.  When he informed me that he and Vonnie would be traveling through Wisconsin on their way to the UP (Upper Peninsula of Michigan), I told him that he simply had to stop at Lambeau Field, home of the Green Bay Packers.  As you can see from the photo above, he did so!  But there’s more to the story.  The day they visited the “Frozen Tundra” was the date of the annual shareholders’ meeting.  As they approached the stadium, someone–assuming them to be shareholders–gave them tickets to go inside!  See:

Pretty cool, eh?! 

I know what you’re thinking:  “That isn’t proof that God prefers the Green Bay Packers to any other NFL team.”  You’re right, I know (except maybe in the case of last year’s Super Bowl team when God providentially chose the Packers over the Steelers, to my great delight).  I do believe that God cares about everything, including sports.  Conventional wisdom states that God is too busy to care about meaningless items such as the outcome of athletic events.  And, that might indeed be the case if God were limited in His attributes.  But He is not limited.  He is intimately involved in His creation.  My purpose, however, is to make another point. 

God cares about what we care about. 

God cares about what we care about. I’ve seen that principle applied in my life on many occasions.  This is just one example.  My friend decided to swing by the stadium to take a photo for me (That’s pretty nice BTW).  Instead, he was able to go inside, listen to some of the annual shareholders’ meeting (July 28, 2011) and buy us some souvenirs (I got a nice coffee mug out of the deal). 

God is kind. 

I knew that before I saw the photos yesterday, but it was good to be reminded.  Life can be challenging.  Little gifts of grace from God sometimes are the fuel we need to get through another day. 

Maybe this entry is a “little gift of grace” for you today.  God may not be a Packers fan (though He most certainly isn’t fond of Satan’s team, the Dallas Cowboys).  He does, however, care about you and that which you care about.  If you are a disciple of Jesus Christ, you are also a child of God (the biblical definition of a child of God is someone who has believed upon the name of Jesus [Jn. 1:12]).  If you have believed upon Christ,  be encouraged today when I remind you that God loves to give good gifts to His children (Mt. 7:11). 

Thanks for stopping by!  Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

