Credit Report Statement

When is the last time you saw your credit report?  I saw ours recently and noticed an encouraging line at the bottom:

“No derogatory information”

In other words, we’re a good “credit risk.”  I should pause here and praise my wife.  Her attention to detail and ability to perform necessary financial gymnastics over the years have given us a great credit rating.  God has blessed me by providing such a wife as Jodi! 

Still, the line sticks in my head.

“No derogatory information”

That line applies not only to my current credit report, but also appears on my debt sheet in heaven.  Reworded, it sounds like this:

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (Rom. 8:1; ESV).

Even though I continue to fight the sin which remains after my conversion to Christianity (Romans 7), I do so as someone who no longer resides under the condemnation of God!  Because of the Spirit applying the work of Christ, I have been  set free “from the law of sin and death” (Rom. 8:2)!  When God the Father looks at me, He sees His Son’s righteousness (2 Cor. 5:21). 

“No derogatory information!”

I very much hope the same is true of you!

In light of the powerful autiobiographical account of the Apostle Paul in Romans, chapter seven, I find it amazing that Martin Luther never mentions this verse in his commentary (8:1).  Another Martin (Llyod-Jones), commented thus:

“This is the greatest good news that has ever come into the world; it holds out the greatest possibility for man since the Fall. It is the heart and essence and soul of the Christian gospel” (Romans, Chapter 7:1-8:4, Zondervan, 1973). 

Indeed!

Later in the chapter, Llyod-Jones makes a very important point.  It must be remembered that condemnation is only removed for those “in Christ Jesus.”  The mystical, spiritual union between Christ and His people was more than a theological proposition to the Apostle.  It was an existential reality!  He experienced it!  So do I! 

Truth matters.  Truth makes a difference. 

Today I rejoice in the truth of Romans 8:1!   

I hope you can rejoice with me.

Leave a Reply

