To Blog or Not to Blog–That’s not the question!

The question is a matter of time, not desire!  A very busy week has come to a conclusion!  It was the first full-week of school at Rhea County Academy.  Jodi and I are both teaching this year, making our days long and requiring us to “burn the midnight oil.”  Today I also needed to rework my Introduction to the Bible course for the college, making it into a hybrid (combination of face-to-face and internet instruction).  Needless-to-say, I find my body and my mind screaming for a day of rest!  I plan to give it just that on Sunday!  Rest is a very good thing.  That’s why God instituted the Sabbath.  That’s why Christians continue to set aside a day for worship and R&R. 

Believe it or not, I frequented my blog quite a bit this week.  I don’t know if you noticed, but there is a new page.  If you will look above, you will see the title “For BS24.”  That page is devoted to my Chattanooga State (that’s the location) group.  I will begin teaching their  Introduction to the Bible course on Monday.  I am looking forward to covering such topics as:

  • The glories of special revelation (the Bible) trumping the glories of gen. rev. (creation).
  • Inspiration, inerrancy, infallibility (the God-breathed Bible is perfect).
  • Canonicity (why the books of the Bible belong in the collection).
  • Interesting figures in the history of the Bible (Moses, Solomon, Paul, Erasmus, Jerome).
  • The meta-narrative of the Bible (main story) and the themes (Christ, redemption, etc.).
  • Hermeneutics (Bible interpretation) and techniques for Bible study.
  • Other uses of the Bible (God’s use of God’s Word and our use of God’s Word). 

I always enjoy illustrating that God’s Word is interesting and worthy of our attention!  My ultimate hope is that God might use His Word in all of our lives (student and teacher) to the end result that we might glory in Him and glorify Him much more than we do. 

Have you spent time in God’s Word this week?  I did.  Each morning I read and meditated upon Romans, chapter eight (I’m teaching Rom. 8:18-39, Part I in Sunday School in the morning).  I also led our 7th & 8th graders in a study of the first few verses of 1 John.  Furthermore, I taught Acts, chapter one to students in grades 3-High School at the Academy.  You know what I found?  God’s Word is interesting and worthy of my attention!  Time does not permit me to share what I found interesting (or encouraging, comforting, convicting, etc.).  However, I will readily admit that my time with my Bible was not wasted.  If you spent any time in the Scriptures this past week, I know you’ll agree with me. 

Well–there’s my update.  Thanks for stopping by the blog.  I hope you have had a great week.  If you love God and are called according to His purpose (that’s a theological way of stating “you are a believer in God through Christ”), our sovereign God worked all things for your good (whether or not it made sense to you presently)!  In that we take much comfort.  Have a great Lord’s Day!

Leave a Reply

