Can’t you smell that smell?

I am cursed with a hyper sensitive nose.  Sometimes smells are overwhelming.  Like our household garbage with darkened diapers and puffy pull-ups.  Like the boy’s bathroom at school (it’s so bad I am going to paint the room over Fall Break, hoping to create a new scent).  Like Jodi’s hair after she swims (a nose full of chlorine isn’t high on the list of enjoyment).  Like a woman doused in perfume.  I could go on and on!

Smells.  Stinks. 

What stinks to you?

Do you ever wonder what stinks to God?  It’s an easy answer. 

Sin stinks to God.

That’s why He covered the world with water (Gen. 9).  That’s why He destroyed Babel (Gen. 11).  That’s why He wrinkles His nose in my direction.  God doesn’t like my sinful smell. 

What am I to do? 

I am studying 1 John each morning with the 7th and 8th graders.  On Monday we discussed 1 John 1:9 (actually, I talked about it while they struggled to wake up).  Do you know it?  It reads,

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

There’s the remedy for my stench!  Rather than leave me in that putrid place, God provided a cleansing!  Two times in 1 John 1, the Apostle discusses purfication.  We just read the second instance.  Here’s the first:

“but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son us from all sin” (1 Jn. 1:7).

Wow!  Because of the work of Jesus (His shed blood), I no longer smell to God!  In fact, I have the scent of the righteousness of Christ (2 Cor. 5:21).  Isn’t that amazing?!  Even more amazing is the fact is that millions of individuals have that scent!  It’s the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Christ (2 Cor. 2:14).  Those who know Jesus Christ spread His heavenly scent by their actions and reactions, their words and their deeds.  Earlier today a close friend from Las Vegas remarked that all believers should be overwhelmed by the truth of justification.  Indeed!  God has declared glorious things pertaining to His children!  The ordo salutis (Latin for “order of salvation”) of Romans 8:29-30 makes that clear.  In God’s eyes…in God’s nostrils…I am already glorified.  In other words, I smell like His Son! 

I don’t know how you are feeling today.  I am fatigued and sick (my stomach has been killing me for over 24 hours now).  On days such as today, I appreciate the truth about my position (even if my practice doesn’t quite fit yet).  It’s another shot in the arm.  I hope this blog serves that purpose in your life.  Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

