The Itsy Bitsy Spider

It was about 10:30PM last night.  I had almost fallen asleep when I felt something strange under my arm.  At first, I thought it was the sheet or the pillow case.  When I could not figure out the issue, I sat up and looked at the sheet, thinking by this point, it might just be a spider.  There wasn’t anything on the sheet.  But then I saw it–I noticed what looked to be a spider on Jodi’s shoulder.  Whatever I had to do, I realized that I needed to do it quickly.  When the spider moved, I pounced!  Better put–I slammed my hand down on my wife’s shoulder, killing the spider while waking her from a deep sleep.  You can only imagine her initial response!  I should inform you that after my hand came down hard on her shoulder, I kept it there, squishing the spider into her pj’s and ensuring that I had a dead spider on my hand. 

Kind of gives me the creeps to think about again.  I hate spiders. 

How did that song go?  “The things you do for love…”

We all do “things…for love.”  In order to give and receive love, we enter into relationships.  Due to the fact that I taught Acts, chapter two, today to the students in 3rd through 6th grades, the radical love experienced in the early church is on my mind.  Luke wrote,

“They were continually devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. Everyone kept feeling a sense of awe; and many wonders and signs were taking place through the apostles. And all those who had believed were together and had all things in common; and they began selling their property and possessions and were sharing them with all, as anyone might have need. Day by day continuing with one mind in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, they were taking their meals together with gladness and sincerity of heart, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord was adding to their number day by day those who were being saved” (Acts 2:42-47).

Isn’t that deep commitment remarkable?!  What things did they do for love?  Just about anything that was needed! 

Consider the intervention options available to me last night:

  1. “Spider!  I’m out of here!” (Exit I to the living room)
  2. “Jodi!  Wake up!  There’s a spider on your shoulder!” (Slip I out of the bed)
  3. Wham.  “Sorry!  Spider on your shoulder!  I think it’s dead.” (Remove I my hand from her shoulder) 

Easy decision, eh?!  My love for Jodi required my course of action.  The love the first century Christians had for one another required their course of action and reaction (even to the radical step of selling possessions to meet needs).  Think for a moment of those in your sphere of influence.  Who in your life do you love–genuinely love?  Do faces come to mind?  Some names perhaps? 

What are you doing about it?  Your love requires a course of action. 

FYI–I decided to include a photo of the spider for your viewing pleasure.

Actually–that’s not really the spider.  The invader to our bed was squished beyond recognition.  Thankfully–it was a lot smaller than the spider above!!!

Suggestion–check your bed for spiders tonight.  Can’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

