Sucking Ranch at Long John’s

This fall my schedule allows me to spend lunch with Cascade three days a week.  Today I took her out for a treat–Long John Silver’s!

I thought she was hungry.

Instead of eating, she spent her time dipping her chicken and french fries in the buttermilk ranch dressing and sucking it off.  The following conversation ensued:

Cascade:  “Daddy, why am I not eating?”

Daddy:  “I don’t know.  Why are you not eating?”

Cascade:  “I don’t know” (try to envision the twinkle in her eye).

Every now and then (I admit that it’s infrequent) I think I believe what the “empty nesters” tell me–that I will miss these days.

Some days I am overwhelmed at the laundry and mess.  I can envision (the actual memory is quite faint) the serenity of a clean and quiet home.  Some days I even envy good friends of ours who do not have children.

But then there are days like today, days when I simply cannot “get over” the grace of God and the cuteness of my kids.

Have a great weekend!

PS–Here’s a picture of “Babies” (Cascade):

Leave a Reply

