A Really Red Rear

I hate it.  I hate it for her.  I hate it for us.  Cascade continues to struggle using the toilet.  Tonight I changed her after her loose stool sat in her pull-up for over an hour as she played outside.  She had a really red rear!  I cleaned her, bathed her, covered her with lotion and dressed her.  It was a traumatic experience for her.  It was a stinky, time-consuming experience for me. 

Why won’t she make a better decision?  Why won’t she do the right thing? 

Probably because she is too much like her father!  OK–I’ve progressed past potty training, but I’m nowhere near the maturity level at which I have set my sights!  Far too often, my decisions and my actions are fleshly rather than spiritual.  They are self-centered instead of Christ-centered.  Sin permeates every aspect of our lives.  Our unwise decisions and our ungodly actions and reactions are proof positive that we have a SERIOUS PROBLEM!

Cascade has a problem–sin!  I have a problem–sin!  You have a problem–sin!  We are born with it and we do it as soon as we are able!  My three-year-old probably isn’t sinning by choosing to poop in her pull-up while playing outside.  But I could give you a list of examples when she has indeed acted and reacted consistent to her nature.  My four children have convinced me that sin is inherent, not the result of negative influences or environmental stimuli.  My own experience is enough to lead me to despair.  Yet–in spite of how sin affects me on a daily basis–I do not despair.  I may say with the Apostle Paul:

“Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” (Rom. 7:24)

But–like him–I am quick to add:

“Thanks be to God thought Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Rom. 7:25)

As I was thinking through my life recently, I wondered where I would be today without Christ.  It’s a scary thought!  Earlier this week, I tried to explain to my Ethics class the miraculous change that has transpired in my life.  That which is old became new (2 Cor. 5:17) by the grace of God (Eph. 2:8,9).  I am not what I once was.  I have warts now, but you should be thankful that God began a good work in me over twenty years ago (Phil. 1:6)!  He recreated me in Christ and He continues to change me from within as I seek His face (Rom. 12:2, Phil. 2:13).  That’s one of those continuing prayers I mentioned yesterday.  I need to “just keep praying”! 

Would you pray for me?  I want to be a godly man.  I want to love what God loves and I want to hate what God hates.  I especially desire to love Christ and hate sin.  If you would pray for me to do that, I would be grateful!  I would also appreciate your prayers for Cascade.  She really needs to conquer her fear of pain on the potty and use the toilet rather than the pull-ups.  It would be good for her really red rear and our noses!  Thanks!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

