Black Friday: A Question

A question to ponder as you prepare to purchase:

Here it is: 

Would God rather I use the money I was planning to spend on gifts or purchases to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ in some manner or alleviate the sufferings of the poor?

Am I serious?  I am!  It’s a question we should all ask ourselves.  It’s an answer only God can provide.  Are you courageous enough to ask it?  Think through the two parts of the question.  First, would God rather I use the money I was planning to spend on gifts or purchases to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ?  In other words, would the Lord have me invest eternally this holiday season rather than using my resources for that which is good, but temporal?

Second,  would God rather I use the money I was planning to spend on gifts or purchases to alleviate the sufferings of the poor?  Perhaps another way of considering this concept is in this manner:  Do I need the item(s) I am planning to purchase?  Do the individuals on my list truly need the objects I am contemplating buying?  We are surrounded by people who have genuine needs.  If you are not currently struggling to make-ends-meet each and every week or month, someone you know is.  Others are sinking.  Can you help?  You can!  Whom might the Lord have you help this holiday season? 

Disclaimer:  There is nothing wrong with giving gifts to others!  God set the example!  Nor is there anything inherently sinful with looking for a good deal on an item you either need or want.  Wise stewardship is a biblical concept.  The point I am making is simply this:  If we are not very careful, this holiday season will be a celebration of greed and selfishness and unwise spending rather than another opportunity to illustrate that we love God more than money and that we love people more than stuff.

Munch on these thoughts as you prepare to enter the malls and stores on Friday!  More importantly, pray.  God will answer your prayers for wisdom.  He promised to do so (Js. 1)! 

Have a great Black Friday–continuing to thank God for His many gifts!

Leave a Reply

