Advent and me: “My God is so BIG…”

How does that song continue?  “My God is so big; so strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do!”  Almost every child raised in a Christian home knows the tune and the words.  I was reminded this morning of how biblical those words truly are as I read Isaiah 40-49.  If God is attempting to do anything in this portion of Scripture, it is to remind us that He is absolutely sovereign.  However, His presentation of Himself is not simply limited to His absolute right to reign. It also includes His concern for His glory and His care for His people. 

Allow me to prove my point by including several verses below.  I trust you will find yourself encouraged as well. 

“All the nations are as nothing before Him, They are regarded as less than nothing and meaningless. To whom then will you liken God? Or what likeness will you compare with Him?” (Is. 40:17,18).

“‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand'” (Is. 41:10).

“‘I am the LORD, that is My name; I will not give My glory to another, Nor My praise to graven images'” (Is. 42:8).

“‘I, even I, am the LORD, And there is no savior besides Me. It is I who have declared and saved and proclaimed, And there was no strange god among you; So you are My witnesses,’ declares the LORD, ‘And I am God. Even from eternity I am He, And there is none who can deliver out of My hand; I act and who can reverse it?'” (Is. 43:11-13).

“Thus says the LORD, the King of Israel and his Redeemer, the LORD of hosts: ‘I am the first and I am the last, And there is no God besides Me…Is there any God besides Me, Or is there any other Rock? I know of none'” (Is. 44:6, 8).

“‘…I am the LORD, and there is no other, The One forming light and creating darkness, Causing well-being and creating calamity; I am the LORD who does all these'” (Is. 45:6, 7).

“‘My purpose will be established, And I will accomplish all my good pleasure'” (Is. 46:10).

“Our Redeemer, the LORD of hosts is His name, The Holy One of Israel” (Is. 47:4).

“Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel, ‘I am the LORD your God, who teaches you to profit, Who  leads you in the way you should go'” (Is. 48:17).

“Shout for joy, O heavens! And rejoice, O earth! Break forth into joyful shouting, O mountains! For the LORD has comforted His people And will have compassion on His afflicted” (Is. 49:13).

“My God is so BIG…”  He is indeed strong and mighty!  Truly, there is nothing my God cannot do!  We not only see these realities in the judgement and restoration of Israel (the context of the book of Isaiah).  We also see God’s Word applied in the birth narrative of Christ. Do you suppose Mary cherished these truths as she sensed her body preparing to begin its sustained contractions?  Did God’s sovereignty encourage her?  Did the Lord’s presence make any difference to her?  You know so!  Mary had great theology.  Do you?  Is your concept of God based upon the Scriptures?  If so, you, too, have a BIG GOD, and knowing Him makes a massive difference in your life!

Leave a Reply

