New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve been spending some time this week with an old friend.  Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758) has been a great source of encouragement to me over the years.  I often turn to his famous Resolutions at this time of year.  Jodi and I read them yesterday, pausing several times to comment on Edwards’ passion to do the right thing at the right time for the right reasons.  As I awoke this morning, I found myself thinking about a sermon he preached on Ephesians 5:16.  His sermon was aptly entitled The Preciousness of Time.  Here’s the verse:

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil” (ESV).

I believe you will find the following comment very appropriate at the conclusion of another December:

“How much may be done in a year! How much good is there opportunity to do in such a space of time! How much service may persons do for God, and how much for their own souls, if to their utmost they redeem their time.”

In other words, God is on the verge of giving to the majority of us twelve new months in which we can glorify Him by blessing others and seeking His face!  Some of us will not live through the coming year.  Most of us, however, will find ourselves at the end of 2012 asking questions such as:  Did I make a difference?  Did I truly seek Christ with passion?  Edwards’ point in his exhortation is that believers ought to make the most of the precious gift of time.  As 2011 ends, Edwards asks:  “And if God, who has given you your time, should now call you to account, what account could you give to Him?”  Now I ask myself:  How do I plan to use my time in 2012 to honor God by blessing others?  How do I plan to seek His face with even more energy than I did this year?  I challenge you to ask yourself those questions as well!

Allow me to conclude with Resolutions #4-7:

4.  Resolved, never to do any manner of thing, whether in soul or body, less or more, but what tends to the glory of God; nor be, nor suffer it, if I can avoid it.

5.  Resolved, never to lose one moment of time; but improve it the most profitable way I possibly can.

6.  Resolved, to live with all my might, while I do live.

7.  Resolved, never to do anything, which I should be afraid to do, if it were the last hour of my life.

Have a great 2012 of glorifying God by blessing others–the natural result of seeking His face!

Leave a Reply

