“Shake it for me girl”

I’m not asking what the “it” is!

At first, I chuckled.  The scene was cute.  The words were being sung by a blonde, four-year-old boy as he walked into Dunkin’ Donuts listening to his iPod. 

Then I began thinking about his grinning father behind him. 

Then I began thinking of my daughter lighting up when she heard on the radio that the contemporary Christian band Casting Crowns was coming to Chattanooga in April.

God has been very kind to me.  He generously blessed Jodi and me with four children.  However, with that blessing comes serious responsibility.  As a father, I have been commanded to train my children in righteousness.  Their childhood is a boot camp to prepare them for a lifetime of God-exalting, people-blessing actions and reactions.  Consequently, my task to protect them from garbage and provide that which is spiritually edifying must remain a priority.  “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord” (Jos. 24:15).  Like Joshua, I am vigilant to lead.  If I do, they will follow. 

With that in mind, let’s compare lyrics just for a second.  Here’s a line from the Luke Bryan song Country Girl the four-year-old was singing:

Get up on the hood of my daddy’s tractor
Up on the tool box, it don’t matter
Down on the tailgate, girl I can’t wait
To watch you do your thing

Here’s a selection from a Casting Crowns song Courageous my daughter enjoys:

the only way we’ll ever stand,
is on our knees with lifted hands.
make us courageous,
Lord make us courageous.
 
Today finds me thankful that my efforts have not been in vain, that my twelve-year-old girl likes better songs than a cute, four-year-old boy receiving poor instruction from an immature father. 
 
Parents, what songs are your children singing?  They will sing what they hear.  What are you allowing your children to hear?
 
“It” matters.
 
Leave a Reply

