These “F” words aren’t so bad!

What words describe your passions and priorities?  Five “F” words come to my mind when I consider what makes me “tick.”  Mind if I share them with you?

Faith

My faith in the Lord Jesus Christ is an integral component of the fabric of my life.  I cannot be understood without your grasping that Jesus is much, much more than a great teacher I admire.  He is–in fact–my Lord and Savior.  Consequently, I deeply desire that He be exalted in my body whether by life or by death (Phil. 1:20).  Hopefully, no one will confuse that commitment with religion.  Without a doubt, I participate in what the world might describe as “religious activities.”  I pray and read God’s Word daily, and I regularly attend church.  My relationship with Christ also affects how I spend my leisure time and what I consider to be essential values.  My prayer is that Paul’s affirmation “For to me, to live is Christ” (Phil. 1:21) becomes increasingly my reality.

Family

Simply put, my family is a HUGE priority to me.  I am passionate about being a faithful husband and father.  That explains why the movie Courageous proved to be such a blessing for me.  I found it to be yet another exhortation to finish well in these important roles I have been called to fill.  Spending quality time with my wife and four children is not an option for me.  Leading my family spiritually is a responsibility that I take seriously. I want to be known as a man who loves his wife like Christ loves the church (Eph. 5:25) and who trains his children in the fear and admonition of the Lord (Eph. 6:4).

Fidelity

In a world that is increasingly becoming accustomed to marital infidelity and sexual immorality, I have been called to faithfulness and purity.  The Lord commands me to be “a one-woman man.”  When I said “I do” in spring of 1991, I meant it.  “‘Til death comes or our Lord shall come” is a promise I intend to keep.  But I am not simply to remain physically present.  I am to remain engaged, loving my wife like Christ loved the Church (Eph. 5).  This year we will celebrate our 21st anniversary.  I am already dreaming about a trip to celebrate our 25th! In the meantime, I am vigilant about my day-to-day battle with the temptations which come my way (1 Jn. 2:16).

Finances

I once heard Dr. John Piper remark that God gives us money to prove that we love Him more than we love money.  He might be correct.  Money is a means to an end, not the end in itself.  Over the years, I have learned that handling my money to the glory of God is as much about trust in God as anything else.  Like you, I have experienced victories and defeats in this area.  Coming to discover that God (not Visa or Mastercard) is our Provider has been “priceless.”

Fitness

I lost 2.9 lbs. since January 1st!  Hip, hip, hooray!  It’s a start!  I have both short and long-term fitness goals for this year.  Although I will never become an exercise-enthusiast, I am becoming more proactive in the care of my body.  I do not want my health to hinder me from fulfilling my responsibilities and finishing well. By the way, I just found out my cholesterol has dropped 31 points, with the “good” cholesterol increasing 20 points! Additionally, my triglycerides have decreased 205 points. Finally, the changes I’ve been making for several years are showing up on the bloodwork! Whew! It is worth it.

Well–there you have it–a brief introduction to me!  I hope you have found it to be helpful as you think about the priorities of your life.  What makes you tick?  What motivates you?  Think about it.

“Whether, then, you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Cor. 10:31).

Leave a Reply

