“You’ve got to be kidding!”

The Bible is filled with some crazy, though true, accounts of individuals and their relationships with God.

“You want me to do–what?  Build an ark?!”  Gen.  6:14

“You want to me to follow you to the land You will show me?”  Gen. 12:1

“You want us to step into the Jordan River at flood stage?!”  Josh. 3:13

“Seriously–I am going to be king of Israel?”  1 Sam. 16:13

“You want us to forgive seventy times seven times?!”  Mt. 18:22

“You want me to lay hands on Saul of Tarsus?!”  Acts 9:13

“You’ve got to be kidding!”

Several years ago, Mark Driscoll grilled Francis Chan on camera regarding Chan’s decision to resign his “successful” pastorate to follow the Lord.  Chan was convinced that God was leading him to walk by faith and transition into a new ministry.  Driscoll was not convinced, almost ridiculing Chan for his apparent foolishness.

“You’ve got to be kidding!  You actually believe God wants you to do that?!  You really believe the Spirit is leading you to make that decision?!  Is that wise?”

Is it possible that faith can look like foolishness?  I think so–particularly in our world which increasingly desires to deify science (even though science itself contains fundamental assertions based upon conjecture and/or faith).  We live in a world in which discipleship looks dumb and faith-filled walking appears like fanaticism.

But what does the Bible teach us?  Believers are to walk by faith, rejoicing that God rewards those who seek Him (Heb. 11:6).  We are to look upon that which is unseen (2 Cor. 4:18; Heb. 11:27),  striving to please God by our faith and trust (Prov. 3:5-6; Heb. 11:39).  And that faith is founded securely on the person and works of Jesus Christ.  Paul wrote,

“I have been crucified with Christ;  and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me” (Gal. 2:20).

“And the life which I now live in flesh I live by faith in the Son of God.”  Because Jesus loved me–a love which began in eternity past (Eph. 1:4) and continues throughout eternity future (Rom. 8:38-39)–and laid down His life for me (John 10:11; Eph. 5:25), I can live by faith.  I can walk by faith.

Am I doing so?  I’m trying.  How will I know?  Because–at least from time to time–I will look foolish.  And–either I am saying it to the Lord (hopefully with great respect) or others are saying it to me.

Saying what?

“You’ve got to be kidding!”

Leave a Reply

