Buckled in by faith on the roller coaster of life

One of my best friends is going to have one of her kidneys removed, hoping that that procedure is successful in removing the cancer.  I just learned that another friend was diagnosed with thyroid cancer.  They–too–are hoping that the cancer has not, nor will not, spread further after her surgery.  Yet another friend informed me that his sister is dying, probably this week.  My situation appears paltry in comparison (I am seeking for a new job in this tough economy, needing to begin working no later than June 1st).

Life is full of challenges–ups, downs, accelerations and stops.

The roller coaster continues.  We simply cannot exit to the left or to the right.  In light of that, we must remain buckled in by faith.

My morning reading today took me to Psalm 55.

Consider the difficulties faced by David as he penned this song:

“I am restless” (v.2).

“the pressure of the wicked” (v.3).

“they bear a grudge against me” (v.3).

“My heart is in anguish within me” (v.4).

“Fear and trembling come upon me” (v.5).

It was a tough time for David!  He had been betrayed by a close friend (v.13).  And even though he wanted to fly away and be at rest (v.6), he continued to take comfort in his sovereign and caring God.  He remained buckled in by faith on the roller coaster of life.

“As for me, I shall call upon God, And the LORD will save me” (v.16).

“But I will trust in You” (v.23).

Knowing that others would read his intimate song, he included this exhortation:

“Cast your burden upon the LORD and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken” (v.22).

I will admit that I don’t quite understand the later assertion concerning the righteous (I’m thinking that I need to study the Hebrew a bit).  However, casting my burdens upon the LORD is something I plan to continue to do.  That exhortation is also included in the New Testament.

“Casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you” (1 Pet. 5:7).

As May progresses, I will be praying for my friends as well as for my need of a new work opportunity.  Whether my coaster ride is cresting a hill or plummeting fast, I–like David before me–have the confidence that God is hearing my prayers!  That, beloved, is a good place to be!

Leave a Reply

