Timothy Award Winner: Celena Wehse

I love general revelation!  I have had the privilege of seeing quite a bit of our beautiful nation.  I’ve hiked to the bottom of Grand Canyon and into the heights of the White Mountains.  I’ve stood atop Humphrey’s Peak in Arizona and toured majestic Carlsbad National Caverns in New Mexico.  I’ve stood in the frigid waters of the Atlantic, north of Boston, and waded in the waves of the Pacific during a California sunset.  I’ve watched sailboats from Diamondhead, Hawaii, and I’ve spent hundreds of hours on the Tennessee River.  I’ve viewed bears in the woods of Michigan and alligators in the Florida swamps.  I’ve been around this country and have seen some amazing sights.  Truly the heavens are not the only bodies which declare the glory of God!

However, as much as I have enjoyed my views of God’s creation and even learned about Him (His creativity, His intelligent design, etc.), my times outside do not compare to my times inside–inside the pages of His Word.  Special Revelation (The Word of God) trumps general revelation (creation)!  That is why I am so proud of my daughter Celena.  She won the highest award available through the AWANA Program–The Timothy Award!  Simply put, Celena memorized over three hundred verses to qualify for the commendation!  Her dedication has been wonderful to see (self-motivated, rather than parent-driven)!  She has hidden God’s Word in her heart.

What an example she has set for her siblings!

We consciously and unconsciously allow negative, ungodly content to penetrate our hearts.  Surely that is one of the reasons we so quickly sin.  What goes in comes out.  Putting God’s Word in our hearts (Paul called it “be transformed by the renewal of your mind” [Rom. 12:2; ESV]) must be a priority if we truly desire to please God.

Consider these renderings of Psalm 119:11

“Thy Word I have hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against Thee” (KJV).

“I have stored up Your Word in my heart, that I might not sin against You” (ESV).

“I have thought much about Your words, and stored them in my heart so that they would hold  me back from sin” (Living Bible).

Thank you, Celena, for proving to us that we can indeed memorize God’s Word!

Thank you, God,  for reminding us that hiding Your Word in our hearts is intensely practical!  Help us to continually draw near to You through prayer and the Scriptures so that we might exhibit Your glory rather than illustrate our sin.

Leave a Reply

