BRIEFLY mistaken for Jesus

Cascade:  “Daddy, is that your face?”

TJ:  “No, no, no, Cassie, that’s Jesus.”

My three-year-old was hanging upside down on the recliner, looking in my direction.  Since her view of me was blocked, she wondered if I was the picture on the bookshelf.  It’s the picture above–a branding of Jesus in wood with the Korean words faith, hope and love.

I don’t see the resemblance.

Do you?  Don’t answer that!

This past Sunday our Sunday School class studied Acts 4:1-22.  In that passage, Luke describes the arrest of Peter and John for the healing of the lame man and their continued teaching about Jesus and His resurrection.  At one point, the religious leaders marveled at the men, sensing that they were uneducated, common men (4:13). Then it dawned on them.  They began to recognise Peter and John.

“They had been with Jesus” (4:13).

The content of their teaching, and how they taught, looked like their Master!  How many hours had they sat under the teaching of Jesus?  How many times had they witnessed their Rabbi answer the questions of others?

Consider for a moment the immediate context here in Acts, chapter four.  Just prior to Luke’s mention of Peter and John’s boldness and the recognition on the part of the Jewish leaders, he records a very important statement uttered by a Spirit-filled Peter.

“And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men my which we must be saved” (4:12).

WOW!  Where did these men get such a narrow-minded understanding of salvation?

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me'” (John 14:6).

Standing before a group of sceptics, the apostles did not waver in their allegiance.  They were not ashamed of Jesus or of His teachings.  They refused to compromise.  They had heard Jesus clearly proclaim that He was the way, not simply a way.  They had seen His boldness when confronted by the religious hypocrites.  Now they were walking in His footsteps.

Did they look like Jesus?  Well, there wasn’t a perfect match.  However, what they were saying, and how they were acting and reacting, was similar!

I trust I look nothing like Jesus–physically.  I do hope, though, that I am beginning to look like Him in other areas.  Like Peter and John, I believe what Jesus proclaimed.  I, too, promote Him as God’s gracious provision to unending bliss in eternity.  Hopefully my actions and reactions are also beginning to look like His.  It’s a process–a long process, but it is a process to which I am committed.

Thanks for stopping by Striving For Reality today!

Leave a Reply

