They Kept Right On

“Now I saw in my dream, that thus they sat talking together until supper was ready. So when they had made ready, they sat down to meat. Now the table was furnished with fat things, and with wine that was well refined; and all their talk at the table was about the Lord of the hill; as, namely, about what he had done, and wherefore he did what he did, and why he had builded that house; and by what they said, I perceived that he had been a great warrior, and had fought with and slain him that had the power of death, Heb. 2:14,15; but not without great danger to himself, which made me love him the more.”

I thought of that passage from Pilgrim’s Progress when I read the following in Acts, chapter five:

“And every day, in the temple and from house to house, they kept right on teaching and preaching Jesus as the Christ” (5:42).

The Apostles simply could not refrain themselves.  Even though they had just been flogged for talking about “the Lord of the hill” (5:40), these radically-transformed men continued to share “the whole message of…Life” (5:20).

The application from such passages truly is self-evident.  We must ask ourselves the questions which so quickly come to mind:

  • Have I been radically-transformed?
  • Am I now Christ-centered?
  • Is my conversation Christ-centered?
  • Do I take opportunities to discuss “the Lord of the hill”?

One of the reasons that I am grateful for today–Sunday–is that this first day of the week allows me the time to examine my life and my priorities.  In a very real sense, Sunday is my chance to start over, to begin afresh in my relationship with God.  My attendance in church is an important part of that endeavor.  Other moments in the day–whether they be used for reading or writing–also help me as I continue striving for reality.

I hope you have had a great day, and that if you did not teach or preach, you sat under teaching and preaching which boldly proclaimed Jesus as the Christ (5:42).

Leave a Reply

