Thankful for God’s “common grace”

Sleeping in on a Saturday morning
A long conversation with my best friend as we sipped coffee
Cascade’s personality (and funny statements)
Two boys laughing as they play the Wii
A lawn cut by my awesome wife on Friday so I did not have to do so today
The opportunity before me to spend the day studying/preparing to teach
A German-Wehse meal being planned for supper
Sunday worship at Grace Reformed Baptist Church in Chattanooga, TN
Green Bay vs San Fransisco Sunday afternoon

You have heard me say it before:  God does not treat me as my sins deserve.  “It is of the Lord’s mercy that I am not consumed” (Lam. 3:22).  God has lavished upon me both saving grace and common grace.  He has saved me.  He has sanctified me (in reality–He continues to do both).  And–He has showered me with blessings.  You read my list.  I did not just win the lottery (I think you need to play to win).  I did not just inherit a large piece of property.  I did not land a new job or do anything exceptionally worthy of praise.

Today simply finds me thankful for God’s “common grace.”

In other words, I am grateful for His small gifts–for the people in my life, for the things which make me chuckle, for something productive to do on the last day of the week.

Life could be worse.  My life could be much worse.

Jeremiah rightly stated that God’s compassions “fail not.”  Every morning God proves Himself to be a compassionate God.  David comforted himself with these words, “But You, O Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness” (Ps. 86:15).  I love how The Message begins Psalm 78:38–“And God? Compassionate!” 

When I am tuckered out (tired, worn) from a long week of work, it is helpful for me to “take stock” of my situation.  This morning I paused to consider God’s many blessings.  By doing so, I was reminded afresh of God’s character.  Because of what God has done for me in Christ, I am His child.  And seasons like this allow me to subjectively experience that which is an objective reality–God is a very good–a perfect–Father to His kids.

How long is your list today?  I know everything isn’t going as you had hoped.  Trust me–I’d change some things as well.  But can you slow down enough to jot down your own list of the Lord’s mercies?  Friend–He has not treated you as your sins deserve either!

Unbelievers are described as individuals who refuse to glorify God and give Him thanks (Romans 1:21).  May this condemnation not be true of us.  May today–this weekend–find us glorying in Christ and glorifying Christ as we thank God for His many gifts!

Leave a Reply

