General Petraeus’ Resigns from the CIA

I trust you have heard the news.  General Petraus, director of the CIA, resigned.  Here is the first paragraph of his letter:

Yesterday afternoon, I went to the White House and asked the President to be allowed, for personal reasons, to resign from my position as D/CIA. After being married for over 37 years, I showed extremely poor judgment by engaging in an extramarital affair. Such behavior is unacceptable, both as a husband and as the leader of an organization such as ours. This afternoon, the President graciously accepted my resignation.

“I showed extremely poor judgment by engaging in an extramarital affair”

“Such behavior is unacceptable, both as a husband…”

Ya think?! 

Fidelity cannot be overrated.  Self-control does not have to be an old-fashioned character trait.  I have repeatedly stressed a very simple message to my kids:  Do the right thing in the right way at the right time for the right reasons.  In the context of General Petraus’ moral failure, the lesson is clear.

If you make a vow, keep it. 

It’s really that simple.  Keep your word.  If you say, “I do” do!  ANd when you are tempted, don’t!

I hate the fact that General Petraeus didn’t.  But every time I hear of men not exercising self-control, I am spurred on to greater faithfulness.  Study the photo above in light of the revelation of adultery.  What stands out to you?  Two things stand out to me:  A Bible and a Bride.

May tonight find all men–particularly those who claim to know and love Christ–courageously obeying the Word of God and loving their wives.

Leave a Reply

