Advent Adventures: “Let my children receive their King”

joy_world_0

For family devotions on Sunday, we watched a video based upon the birth of Jesus.  It was clear again that my children understand that Jesus is the reason for the season.  They grasp that our annual celebration in late December is centered upon the person of Christ.  I shared that as a child, even I knew that something special happened so many years ago in Israel.

I just didn’t know why.

My kids know the why–to a point.  They can articulate that a Savior needed to come.  They comprehend that man is incapable of saving himself.  They even believe that which is self-evident–that they are sinners by birth and by choice.  They know the why.  And they know the why applies to them.

But I remain convinced that they have not willingly bowed their knees to Christ, asking the Savior to save.

I first heard the gospel in December of 1984.  A black pentecostal preacher and a white methodist chaplain on two consecutive Sundays boldly proclaimed the truths related to my sinful condition and the sinless Savior who willingly died that I might live.  I have said it many times–I did not need to be convinced that I was a sinner.  My list was long.  My guilt was tangible.  What I needed was a work of God in my heart that I might indeed cry out to Christ.  That’s what we all need.  The wind of the Holy Spirit must blow upon us if our conviction is to translate to confession.

Christmas is a season of joy.  Joy to the world!  Do you remember how the line continues?  “The LORD has come!”  And the next?  “Let earth receive her King.”  And that is how happiness turns to joy at Christmas.  My kids objectively know that Jesus Christ is the King of kings.  However, they have yet to experience His kingship in their lives.  They almost seem content in knowing about Jesus rather than desiring to know Jesus.  I trust that this happens within many Christian homes.  Believe me when I state that I will continue to challenge them to receive Christ–the King (John 1:12)!

I’ll ask the question.  Are you content in knowing about Jesus?  Or, have you received your King?  Have you willingly bowed your knees?

See the example.  Hear the challenge.

“The shepherds went back, glorifying and praising God for all that they had heard and seen, just as had been told them” (Luke 2:20).

“After coming into the house they saw the Child with Mary His mother; and they fell to the ground and worshipped Him” (Matthew 2:11).

“For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father” (Philippians 2:9-11).

Leave a Reply

