The Mayan Calendar. The End of the World. The Inability to Deconstruct R.E.M.

end-of-the-world-21-12-2012

Happy Destruction Eve!

Many people believe that the Mayan calendar successfully pinpointed December 21, 2012 as the last day of our planet.

Are you worried?!

Funny thing–“It’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine.”

Have you ever contemplated the words to the famous R.E.M. song It’s the End of the World as We Know It?  It is impossible to deconstruct the lyrics.  You cannot explain away meaning when there is none.  Seeking to understand the meaning of this song is like trying to figure out the identity of Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.  In reality, Lucy was most likely the child of a drug-induced trance.  I’d be willing to bet the farm the same is true of R.E.M.’s song!

Consider the final paragraph:

The other night I tripped a nice continental drift divide.  Mount St. Edelite.
Leonard Bernstein.  Leonid Breshnev, Lenny Bruce and Lester Bangs.
Birthday party, cheesecake, jelly bean, boom!  You symbiotic, patriotic,
slam, but neck, right?  Right.

WOW–How deep!  Neck, right?  WRONG!  I wish you could correctly accuse me of pulling that verse out of context.  I almost wish you could call me naive, being unable to grasp the significance of the nihilistic thought expressed by a rock and roll poet.  But truth be told–the song is logically ridiculous.  It is complete boom…

…save for the admission that–in spite of the impending doom–there is no need to worry.

“I feel fine.”

The Mayans may be right.

But I feel fine.  Why?  Because my death is only a gateway to glory!  Because Jesus made it possible for the ancient words of Psalm 23 to be true for me.  My Good Shepherd will lead me beside quiet waters with His rod and His staff.  Knowing these truths both objectively and subjectively cause me to admit that I really do feel “fine.”

And I’d probably feel even better with some of that R.E.M. cheesecake!  That wouldn’t be such a bad last meal.

And…

And…

See ya on the other side of destruction!

Leave a Reply

