Lance Armstrong–What kind of a man are you?

Cheat
Lie
Fail as husband
Fail as father
Multiple failed relationships
Former teammates testifying that you are a jerk
What’s next?
I dare not ask
Time to defrag
Time to look in the mirror men
What kind of a man are you?

I wrote those words today at lunch.  The report of Lance Armstrong finally admitting he used performance enhancing drugs dominated sports radio today.  What really stood out to me, however, was the topic raised by ESPN’s Scott Van Pelt.

All men want their Dad to be proud of them.

I think that that is a universal sentiment.  It would be difficult to find a man who did not care about what his earthly father thought.  Deep down, we care.

My Dad is gone.  But my heavenly Father is alive and watching what I do–my actions, my reactions, the level of my faithfulness to my commitments.  And although my Father does not see perfection in me, I very much desire for Him to see consistency.  I want Him to be proud of me as I strive to take my responsibilities seriously.

One of the mantras that my sons often hear from me is: “Do the small stuff right.”  I am training them to do their best in the little so that they might prove faithful in the big.  Lance Armstrong failed in some pretty big (fair-play, truth-telling, family, etc.).  I do not want the same to be said of me.  I especially do not want that to be said of my sons.

Boys–What kind of men will you be?

“Whether, then, you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”
1 Corinthians 10:31

Leave a Reply

