Safety in the Rock Place

You have yet to convince me that cats are intelligent life forms.

Here’s the story.  So as not to further embarrass the feline, pictures are not included.

When I got in my truck to leave work on Friday, I had no idea that a calico cat was hiding behind one of my tires.  Typically a cat will scurry away when you approach or get in a vehicle that it was using for shelter.  Not this cat.  He stayed put.  After starting the truck, I began to reverse out of my parking space.  As soon as I did, however, I felt a bit of resistance.  Thinking it to be a rock or something similar in size, I applied more pressure to the gas pedal.  That’s when I felt the truck slightly rise.  That’s also when I heard a sound that resembled a scream. And a scream it was!

“Hey!  Stop!  You’re driving on me!”

The poor thing limped off into the woods, shaking his head.  If that was the beginning of the end for him, I can only hope several of his nine lives remain!

Hiding behind someone’s truck tire is not the wisest thing to do.

I wonder–Is there a spiritual lesson hidden in this unfortunate event?

I wonder–Where are we hiding?

In one of my favorite Psalms, David calls the Lord his safe spot.

“You are my hiding place; You preserve me from trouble; You surround me with songs of deliverance” (Ps. 32:7)

That sentiment is repeated in Psalm 119:114 where the poet also calls God his shield.  The concept is that of protection.

Due to my new vocation, I often find that my illustrations are related to the computer world.  When the subject of protection is raised, I tend to think of anti-virus and anti-malware software.  Both are needed for any system accessing the internet.  And both need to be active and updated.  But we too often allow them to expire and fail to keep them updated.  And what happens when we do?  We get run over by a truck!  We get a nasty computer virus!  Been there?  I have.  I know many who have!  It’s not a good place to be.

That’s the same place in which we find ourselves when we hide somewhere other than in God.  When we seek safety and security in alternatives to Christ, we unwittingly open ourselves up to attack.  As crazy as it sounds, we consciously put ourselves in positions of danger.

Beloved, this should not be!

This morning I compared the lyrics of two songs–both entitled Rock of Ages.  The first song I considered was from Def Leppard.  I chuckled as I read the meaningless words.  For entertainment’s sake, allow me to share a stanza:

I’m burnin’, burnin’, got the fever
I know for sure there ain’t no cure
So feel it, don’t fight it, go with the flow
Gimme, gimme, gimme, gimme one more for the road
(www.lyricsfreak.com)

Now–in contradistinction–I share the words of a classic poem written by Augustus Toplady:

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
let me hide myself in thee;
let the water and the blood,
from thy wounded side which flowed,
be of sin the double cure;
save from wrath and make me pure.
(www.hymnsite.com)

Def Leppard wrote a song to celebrate rock ‘n roll.  Augustus Toplady celebrated The Rock of Ages.  Did you notice anything similar in the stanzas I selected?  The word “cure” appears in both.  Apparently there is no cure for the rock ‘n roll fever.  But there is a cure–a double cure–for sin!  That’s why Jesus–as opposed to a rock song or a concert event–is the only truly safe and secure place to hide!

Beware of hiding behind places which appear to be immovable, but only prove to be dangerous when the gear is placed in reverse.  Do not think that you will be protected if your anti-virus is not renewed or your anti-malware has not been updated in forty-five days.  And–if Jesus is your Rock of Ages–stay close to Him!

Leave a Reply

