Friendship–One of God’s greatest gifts

I was disappointed with the movie.  Having seen The Lord of the Rings trilogy, I was hoping that the The Hobbit would offer something new–something different.  I guess I am just tired of the genre.  I’ve seen enough orcs.

I was disappointed with the dinner.  Jodi chose Mexican.  I took her to an authentic establishment often visited by Hispanics.  It was OK, a bit over-priced, average food, workers more interested in preparing for closing than serving customers.

I was disappointed with the coffee.  We needed a pick-me-up on our way home.  The coffee we purchased tasted like what you would find at a local diner.  Cheap.

Some date, eh?!

In fact, it was a great date!  Inspite of the above disappointments, I had a great time.  Why?  My best friend was by my side.  I would do it all over again if it meant five more hours with Jodi.  Today–the day after–I find myself grateful for one of God’s greatest gifts–friendship.  I am thankful that I have a best friend.  I am thankful for the friends who watched our girls and the friends who watched our boys to make our celebration of Jodi’s birthday possible.

I am rich with friends.  Most of us are.  Think through your list–whether it be short or long at this particular juncture in your life.  Then, thank God for these flesh-n-blood blessings that make life a bit more bearable.

Leave a Reply

